Supreme Court Down To 10 Judges As Justice Dattijo Retires

Justice Musa Dattijo Muhammad

In an official statement released in Abuja on Sunday by Dr. Festus Akande, the Director of Press and Information for the Court, it was revealed that this valedictory session will take place at 10:00 am in the Main Courtroom of the Supreme Court.

Presiding over this special court session will be Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, who will deliver a tribute to Justice Dattijo, accompanied by other prominent figures from the nation’s justice sector.

Born on October 27, 1953, in Minna and a native of Chanchaga Local Government Area in Niger State, Justice Musa Dattijo’s educational journey commenced at Native Primary School in Minna from 1960 to 1966. He then attended Sheikh Sabbah College (now Sardauna Memorial Secondary School) in Kaduna from 1967 to 1971, followed by a Pre-Degree program at Abdullahi Bayero College in Kano. This program facilitated his subsequent admission to the Faculty of Law at Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, where he graduated with a degree in Law in 1977. He was called to the Nigerian Bar on July 2, 1977, and later pursued an LLM Degree at Warwick University in 1982, successfully obtaining it in 1983.

ALSO READ  Gumi's Views on Wike Spark Regional Debate

Justice Dattijo’s career path led to his elevation to the Court of Appeal on November 21, 1998, following service in various divisions within the Niger State Judiciary. On July 10, 2012, he took the oath of office as a Justice of the Supreme Court.

“With Justice Musa Dattijo Muhammad’s retirement, the Supreme Court of Nigeria will now comprise 10 Justices,” the statement announced.

Discover more from News Center Nigeria

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading