President Tinubu Swears In 3 New Ministers


As reported by DAILY POST, the solemn swearing-in took place at 12:15 pm in the Council Chamber of the State House, just before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council meeting, which President Tinubu presided over.

This development occurred approximately two weeks after the Senate granted approval to the trio following their rigorous screening on October 4, 2023.

President Tinubu nominated Ibrahim and Olawande for the roles of Minister of Youth and Minister of State for Youth, respectively, on September 17, 2023. Simultaneously, he submitted Balarabe Lawal for ministerial consideration, representing Kaduna.

Notably, Lawal, who formerly held the position of secretary to the government under former Governor Nasir El-Rufai, has now taken on the role of Minister of Environment in President Tinubu’s cabinet, succeeding his predecessor.

Jamila Ibrahim, aged 37, hails from Kwara State and boasts a background as a medical doctor, politician, and an advocate for the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. Prior to her recent appointment, she held the position of National President within the APC Young Women Forum.

Ayodele Olawande, aged 34, brings his expertise in community development and his prominent position as a youth leader within the All Progressives Congress. He previously served as a special adviser on innovation in the office of the former president, Muhammadu Buhari, under the administration of Vice President Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, from 2019 to 2023.

Before the commencement of the meeting, a minute of silence was observed by the Council to honor the late Mobolaji Ajose-Adeogun, who passed away on July 1, 2023, at the age of 96. Ajose-Adeogun had been appointed as the Minister of Federal Capital during the Murtala Mohammed military regime in 1976 and served in that capacity until 1979.

Monday’s meeting marked the second gathering of the Federal Executive Council since President Tinubu assumed office on May 29, 2023.