Breaking: INEC Declares Diri winner, Bayelsa 2023 Gov election

Governor Douye Diri

In a groundbreaking announcement, Senator Douye Diri emerges triumphant in the Bayelsa governorship election, declared the winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The verdict, disclosed by Prof. Kuta Farouk, State Returning Officer and Vice-Chancellor of the Federal University of Technology, Minna, unfolded at the Prof. Mahmood Yakubu Media Centre in Yenagoa, Bayelsa State.

Governor Diri clinched victory in six of the state’s eight local government areas, overshadowing his main rival, Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress, who secured wins in only two LGAs. Key battlegrounds, including Kolokuma/Opokuma, Ogbia, Yenagoa, Sagbama, Nembe, Ekeremor, Brass, and Southern Ijaw, swung in favor of the incumbent governor. Conversely, Chief Sylva of the APC celebrated victories in Nembe and Brass LGAs.

ALSO READ  Lagos State: 12 LASTMA Officials arraigned for misconduct

Stay tuned as we await a more comprehensive breakdown of the election results, promising a detailed insight into this impactful electoral outcome.